Jul 14th, 2017, The Weather

Posted: July 14, 2017 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , ,

AZ Sacaton Rest Area (1)

Ever since moving to Arizona, the weather’s been hot and dry.  Everyone kept saying, “but it’s a dry heat”.  True, the hot weather here is much more bearable that it was in Kansas City.  Problem is, I start to sweat when I’m outdoors, but it immediately evaporates.  Then I go indoors, still sweating.  In that cool air, nothing evaporates. so I usually soak my clothes like I’ve been standing in a rain storm.  Which brings me to monsoons.

Everyone here speaks longingly about monsoons like they’re talking about a loved one.  Haven’t yet experienced a monsoon at the house, but I’ve watched them forming.  In Kansas City, storms roll in fast, dump on you and roll on out.  Here, they take forever to form.  Like the picture above.  I took this at 2pm driving home from Tucson.  I was at dinner around 7pm, and this is what the sky looked like.

AZ Mesa Monsoon

It still isn’t raining.  It appears like I may experience my first monsoon at home sometime tonight.

Last night I was in Tucson, where I snapped this picture at sunset.

AZ Tucson Monsoon

It finally started storming about 10pm.  If that’s any indication, I might be able to see if my roof leaks around the same time tonight.

Leave a Reply

