June 26th, 2017, Streak’s Over

Posted: June 26, 2017 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , ,

IMG_0648

Well, my attempt to write an entry every day has finally crashed and burned.  It wasn’t for lack of things to write about — I had some.  I was distracted in the evenings or just too tired.

Last week I drove to northern Arizona, to the Hopi Indian Nation and spent the whole week there.  I worked at the health center, ate breakfasts and dinners and spent the nights at the Hopi Cultural Center.  I almost ran out of gas, running on fumes leaving the reservation, barely making it to Winslow before I could fill up.

I drove through a little town called Strawberry, in the Arizona mountains.  Decided to stop during lunchtime, visiting a historical schoolhouse and eating in a western-themed restaurant/saloon.

AZ Bandits Restaurant and Dirty Cowboy Saloon

Strawberry is trying to get in on some of the tourist business a little town a few miles away called Pine is getting.  Arty-farty galleries and froo-froo shops line both sides of the highway in Pine.

In case you haven’t heard, it’s been hot in Arizona the last few weeks.  When I drove home on Friday through strawberry and Pine, the temperature was about 100 degrees.  I made the same drive three years ago, and seem to remember it being about 60 degrees.

Well, I guess I’ll call it quits for this evening.  It’s obvious I won’t be blogging every evening anymore, but I’ll try my best to blog more often than last year.

Leave a Reply

