April 30th, 2017, This Is My Story

Posted: April 30, 2017 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

NM Tucumcari.png

Woke up to this scene in Tucumcari, New Mexico this morning.  The temperature was already in the 40’s and last night’s snow had begun melting.  We drove across New Mexico to Arizona, stopping in Laguna to see some sights.

NM Laguna 1

Scenic Porta-Potty View

 

Not long after this stop, I drove into an orange barrel zone on the interstate and realizing I hadn’t seen a speed limit change to a lower speed, asked my aunt if she’d seen a speed zone (she said no) and I said it seemed strange the speed limit would be the same as it was before the barrels — but the cars in front of me hadn’t seemed to slow down.  I’d been driving a little while, when I noticed a police care with flashing lights coming up from behind.  I pulled over, thinking he wanted to get by, but then he pulled off and I realized he was after me.  Turns out the speed limit had indeed changed in the construction zone and for some reason my aunt and I had both missed the new speed limit sign.  I received a ticket for driving the old speed limit, which was 20mph above the new.  There was no talking my way out of that.

We continued on to Gallup, New Mexico, where I’d planned to take my aunt to a restaurant I liked the last time I was in town.  But the restaurant was closed.  We ended up at a restaurant in a historic hotel, having Mexican food.  Pretty tasty!

Off again!  We decided to visit Petrified Forest National Park before reaching Holbrook, Arizona for the night.  We drove through the park, visiting the Painted Desert, an historic pueblo where there were petroglyphs, and several areas with petrified wood.

AZ Painted Desert 7

Petroglyphs on a Rock

Leave a Reply

