April 16th, 2017, Satellite Radio

Posted: April 16, 2017 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

presentation-on-satellite-radio-1-728

Used to be a time when I traveled around the countryside, changing radio stations as they faded out, hoping to find new ones that weren’t country and western or sports talk radio.  Then they started putting satellite radios in rental cars.  I enjoyed driving in different parts of the country for work and listening to the same stations no matter where I was.  Still, I resisted getting satellite radio for myself.  Then I happened to be on the road somewhere listening to AltNation when they began playing the Coachella music festival, then later on South by Southwest (or maybe it was the other way around).  No matter —  I became a big fan of listening to music festivals and was finally moved to get my own radio for when I was at home.  Having only one radio presented me with another problem, though.  How could I listen in my apartment AND my car without having to carry the radio around with me?  I was too cheap to buy another radio and pay for a second subscription.  I found out about SiriusXM’s on-line service.  Now I pay for that so my satellite radio can stay in the car, and I listen to satellite radio in my apartment via the Roku box.  Today I’ve been sitting in the living room listening to Coachella on XMU, the start of another music festival season.  I’m a happy camper!

Leave a Reply

