February 17th, 2017, in Des Moines

Posted: February 17, 2017 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Bought 5 gallons of gas this morning after having driven 175 miles in the new car.  That works out to 35mpg running errands and such.  I drove to Des Moines afterward.  Averaged about 50mpg.  Figuring a 10-gallon tank (I would know for sure if I’d only check the owner’s manual), I can go 500 miles on a full tank.  Thanks awesome!

My aunt Sally and I went out for lunch in Des Moines’ East Village at place called Tacopocalypse East Village.  She had a Korean-ingredient burrito and I had masa fries covered with chorizo and an egg.  We both liked what we ordered, and both felt stuffed afterward.  So much so that when it was time for dinner, we were a little reluctant to eat again.

We spent a few hours walking around the East Village checking out the shops.

I’d heard from a coworker about a great place here called Zombie Burger + Drink Lab.  As it turned out that was only two blocks away.  So we went there for dinner.  And we ordered hamburgers.  Sally had one where the bun was actually two grilled-cheese sandwiches.  Mine was called the Undead Elvis, which contained a fried egg, fried banana and peanut butter.  I know what’s on your mind, but it was actually very good.

When I worked on the road during my past life, I would do my laundry when staying in a sweet suite hotel like the one I’m in tonight.  Knowing I’d have access to free washers and dryers here, I brought dirty clothes on this trip.  After Sally went home, I washed it.  Fun times!

Leave a Reply

