My New Ghost Story?

Posted: July 4, 2015 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

ghost

For years, I’ve only had one supposed ghost story to tell, about the time we kids were in the garage holding a séance and the candle we used went out, like a drop of liquid had dropped onto the wick from above.  I’d had my eyes open at the time, so if I hadn’t seen it happen, I would have suspected my brother was pulling a prank.

Ever since, I’ve listened to other folks tell their stories and watched the ghost shows on TV.  And, I’ve never actually SEEN a ghost in person.  Still haven’t.  But something out of the ordinary happened during my recent vacation, which has me wondering whether I was MAYBE visited by a ghost.

I had some time to kill when I was in Colorado, so I drove to Cripple Creek to see if I could find the graves of my stepmom, her dad and brother and pay my respects.  I’d never been to the cemetery before, so I walked around for about an hour and a half.  I hadn’t found their graves by the time I had to leave, so I hopped in my car and drove back to Colorado Springs.  When I reached my hotel, I began entering the information I needed to go visit a cousin for dinner.  I’d paused at a screen, reading the address.  Then the GPS beeped three times, backing up a screen each time as if someone were pressing the back button on the display.  I watched it happen, and didn’t SEE anything poking the screen.  I figured it was some sort of malfunction and went back to entering the information.

The next day, I was driving across Wyoming and had to make a pit stop at one of the rest areas.  When I entered the bathroom, there was a guy washing his hands.  He left.  While I was standing at the urinal, the sink’s faucet turned on and off three times, as if someone had passed their hand in front of the motion detector.  There was no-one standing at the sink.  When I went to the sink, I tried figuring out why the faucet would turn on by itself, but the only way I could get the water to flow was by passing my hand in front of the detector.

I thought about the previous day’s GPS behavior, and began wondering whether some spirit from the cemetery had latched onto me and was trying to get me to notice.  And I wondered why the two things happened three times each.  What could THREE mean?  I wondered whether it might have something to do with the three graves I’d been looking for.  Anyway, nothing has happened since, so IF someone had taken a ride with me for two days, they must have decided to spook someone else.

So — now I have a better, I think, possible ghost story than the only one I’ve had since I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

