Heaven Is for Real — A Review

Posted: March 14, 2014 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , ,

Heaven Is for Real

A few years ago, I read this book about a little boy who said he’d gone to heaven and the way he’d described it to his family.  I was amazed at the things I read.  Since then, I’d forgotten the details of the book.

This very good movie reminded me of the details, and once again made a believer out of me.

My only criticism is that the church congregation in the story seemed too perfect.  The church in Nebraska may really be the way it was portrayed in the film — everybody wore dress clothes on Sunday morning and most were attractive-looking (in fact, I kept finding myself eyeing up the mom-character, because she was so sexy).  Most were extremely nice folk, and even when they weren’t, they really weren’t that bad.

The cast of big-name stars like Greg Kinnear and Thomas Haden Church distracted me a little, as I kept wondering whether these actors actually believed in what their characters were saying, or were each of their roles just another role?  The cast did a very good job, but I couldn’t help wondering if lesser-known (and physically plain) actors would have been less-distracting?

All in all, I liked the movie.  I did get the feeling it was geared to church-folk, but that was to be expected, as I don’t see many atheists attending, seeking answers to their burning question about whether heaven is for real.  The crowd seemed like a church crowd, considering the reactions I heard to some of the scenes.  The crowd seemed less cynical than I am.  Considering the innocent nature of the audience, I felt the security guards standing in the front of the auditorium during most of the advance screening, watching for illegal recording, was a little off-putting.  I understand piracy is a big problem, but sometimes the movie companies need to remember who their audiences are.  When the film is finally released next month, I’d recommend seeing it, then you can decide whether heaven is for real, or not (and what does heaven look like?).

Leave a Reply

