A Recap of My Last Rotation

Posted: November 20, 2013 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

dinosaur-bbq

I ate at this place three nights in a row — but I’ll get to that later.

In an earlier post, I wrote about my trials and travesties flying to Philadelphia, where I began my last rotation.  On day 2, I drove from Philly to Pine Grove, in the Berkshires.  Many trees were bare, but many were still beautifully orange.  From there, I moved eastward to Reading, then to Easton, then to Hackettstown, New Jersey.

In that area of the country, I tend to eat dinner at diners and local restaurants, and that’s what I did this rotation.  In Philly I ate at a restaurant next to my hotel called the Deck.  If anyone has seen It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, you know who Dee Reynolds is.  The waitress at the Deck looked just like her.  Considering I was in Philly, I couldn’t help wondering if the character might be based on her.  The next few nights, I ate at two “family” restaurants and a steak house called the Hitching Post.  Normally I would have expected the Hitching Post steak house to have a western theme, but the cast-iron horse-shaped hitching post outside clued me in that this place would be a little more colonial in nature.  Sure enough, the interior was upscale, a jazz band played in the bar and the menu though meat-centric seemed more European than western.  And, I ate at a local Japanese restaurant so authentic it reminded me of the places I ate in when I lived in Japan and Okinawa.

Then there was the place in the picture above….  Dinosaur BBQ, in Brooklyn, NY.  I spent the last half of my rotation working at a site in Brooklyn and stayed at a hotel across the street from Dino BBQ.  As I mentioned above, I ate there three nights in a row.  In Kansas City and across the southern US, I’ve grown used to certain spices on barbecue and the sides that come with it.  Dinosaur BBQ, though it smoked the meats like the rest of the country, the restaurant topped the meats with relishes and sauces featuring different spices seeming more Caribbean.  Even the sides contained different spices.  I liked it (obviously)!  If I hadn’t, I’d have sought out other places to eat rather than returning twice to try more items from the menu.  So, if you’re ever in Brooklyn, check out Dinosaur BBQ.

On the last night of my rotation, I returned to Philadelphia, to catch a flight the following morning.  I ate at the Deck again, and Dee Reynolds was working there again.  She was a nice woman, and a lot more grounded than the TV show character.  By the way, the food there was awesome and not too expensive.  I got to eat crisp steamed asparagus spears both times I was there!

Then there was my airline experience….  my first leg left on time, and was a pleasant flight (I had a row of seats all to myself).  I had a small layover in Detroit, or so I thought.  About 15 minutes before my flight was to leave, the gate agent announced our pilot hadn’t yet shown up to fly the plane, so our flight was delayed.  A half-hour later, the pilot still hadn’t shown up.  This time, the copilot announced the flight would be delayed again.  But good news!  A new pilot had been located and he was on his way.  The copilot made a point to say this new pilot was a friend of his and he WASN’T the pilot who hadn’t shown up.  I know he said that because he didn’t want his buddy to get scowls and angry words when he showed up at the gate.  Well, aside from having the flight delay, I had another row to myself, so it was a good flight.

Soup Nazi

Leave a Reply

