Unsatisfying, Part 1

Posted: November 7, 2013 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , ,

Upcoming-Movie-2013-2014

Maybe it’s me, but I’ve found the last two or three movies I’ve seen a little less than satisfying.  This weekend, I saw Bad Grandpa and Last Vegas.  Both had potential, but I felt they fell flat.

First, Bad Grandpa told the story of a grandpa taking his grandson on a cross-country trip.  The whole idea was for Johnny Knoxville and the cast to act out scenes in front of real people and film their reactions for some laughs.  The movie put a smile on my face for most of the film, and I did laugh out loud a couple of times, but I remember the way I roared and rolled in my seat during Borat.  I loved Borat, and now I measure similar films against it.  While entertaining, Bad Grandpa falls short.

Then there was Last Vegas, a 2-hour long commercial for Las Vegas.  The story had potential, but watching the old guys misbehaving among girls in bikinis at the _____ Hotel (I remember the name of the hotel, so the movie turned out to be an effective commercial, but I refuse to do any more advertising).  The whole point of the movie seemed to be “come spend your thousands of dollars and get all the sexy women you want.”  While I like the cast, I just didn’t enjoy watching them behave like they were in that Project X movie.  I expected something a little more sophisticated.  I remember Adam Sandler‘s Jack and Jill and how much I hated it.  The main reason was it was a big commercial for a cruise line.  I’m surprised Branson hasn’t taken a cue from Las Vegas and started funding its own 2-hour long commercials.

At least I can rest assured a few upcoming films shouldn’t be unsatisfying experiences for me.  I’m really looking forward to the new Thor and Hunger Games movies.

Popcorn

Leave a Reply

