Theme Songs in My Life

Posted: October 7, 2013 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

love-story-stick-boy-girl

I’ve written about this before, I’m sure.

But it amazes me how I can go from this:

ATLANTA RHYTHM SECTION

I Am So Into You

When you walked into the room There was voodoo in the vibes
I was captured by your style
But I could not catch your eyes
Now I stand here helplessly
Hoping you’ll get into me

I am so into you
I can’t think of nothing else
I am so into you
I can’t think of nothing else

Thinking how it’s going to be
Whenever I get you next to me
It’s gonna be good, don’t you know
From your head to your toe
Gonna love you all over, over and over
Me into you, you into me, me into you

I am so into you
I am so into you, ooh

Songwriter(s): Dean Daughtry, Robert Nix, Buddy Buie

Copyright: Sony/ATV Songs LLC

Into this:

BOSTON

Long Time

It’s been such a long time
I think I should be goin’, yeah
And time doesn’t wait for me, it keeps on rollin’
Sail on, on a distant highway
I’ve got to keep on chasin’ a dream
I’ve gotta be on my way
Wish there was something I could say.

Well I’m takin’ my time, I’m just movin’ on
You’ll forget about me after I’ve been gone
And I take what I find, I don’t want no more
It’s just outside of your front door.

It’s been such a long time. It’s been such a long time.

Well I get so lonely when I am without you
But in my mind, deep in my mind,
I can’t forget about you
Good times, and faces that remind me
I’m tryin’ to forget your name and leave it all behind me
You’re comin’ back to find me.

Well I’m takin’ my time, I’m just movin’ on
You’ll forget about me after I’v e been gone
And I take what I find, I don’t want no more
It’s just outside of y our front door.

It’s been such a long time. It’s been such a long time.

Yeah. It’s been such a long time, I think I should be goin’, yeah
And time dosnt wait for me, it keeps on rollin’
There’s a long road, I’ve gotta stay in time with I’ve got to keep on chasin’ that dream, though I may never find it
I’m always just behind it.

Well I’m takin’ my time, I’m just movin’ along
Takin’ my time, just movin’ along
Takin’ my time, takin’ my time…

Songwriter(s): Tom Scholz
Copyright: Pure Songs, Next Decade Entertainment Inc. O/B/o Pure Songs

It isn’t that I’m fickle.  Between one frame of mind and the other, there’s a lot of reflection, revelation, resistance.  Constantly hoping something nice will happen — until something inside me just clicks and I realize the other person will never see in me what I see in her.  I let it go.

BOSTON

Don’t Look Back

Don’t look back, a new day is breakin’
It’s been too long since I felt this way
I don’t mind where I get taken
The road is callin’, today is the day

I can see, it took so long just to realize
I’m much too strong not to compromise
Now I see what I am is holding me down
I’ll turn it around

I finally see the dawn arrivin’
I see beyond the road I’m drivin’

It’s a bright horizon and I’m awaken
I see myself in a brand new way
The sun is shinin’, the clouds are breakin’
Cause I can’t lose now, there’s no game to play

I can tell there’s no more time left to criticize
I’ve seen what I could not recognize
Everything in my life was leading me on,
But I can be strong

I finally see the dawn arrivin’
I see beyond the road I’m drivin’

Don’t look back, a new day is breakin’
It’s been so long since I felt this way
I don’t mind where I get taken
The road is callin’, today is the day

I can see, it took so long just to realize
I’m much too strong not to compromise
Now I see what I am is holding me down
I’ll turn it around

I finally see the dawn arrivin’
I see beyond the road I’m drivin’

Songwriter(s): Tom Scholz, T. Scholz

Copyright: Pure Songs, Next Decade Entertainment Inc. O/B/o Pure Songs

I don’t think I’ve mentioned this before, but Boston is one of my favorite groups.  Many of their songs capture the way I feel at times, but they contain many references to the road, which has been one of the main themes in my life since the day I was born.

Leave a Reply

