100% Chance of Pun — A Review of Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2

Posted: September 22, 2013 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , ,

cloudy_with_a_chance_of_meatballs_2-wide

Recently I’ve been disappointed with the quality of the animated films I’ve seen.  I’ve found them formulaic, one-dimensional and not very funny (Planes).  So I was pleasantly surprised I enjoyed watching Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2 this weekend.  The movie started out with a recap of the previous film, so anyone who hadn’t yet seen the first could understand why an island would be covered with giant food items.  In addition, the back story added new information which introduced the new characters in this film, who seemed to me to be a cartoon version of Steve Jobs and an assistant.

This movie wasn’t one-dimensional, in that the animation contained action in the background when the characters at stage front were saying their lines, and the humor in the film was aimed at both kids and adults.  But, the film wasn’t two-dimensional, either — it was 3D!  I know that’s nothing special these days, but the effects were fun to watch without an upcharge to my movie ticket (have I mentioned this was another free advance screening?).

My daughter said the movie was predictable because she was able to tell who the bad guy would be right away.  True, it wasn’t hard to figure that out, but I took pleasure in the many puns and slapstick humor, and the way the film skewered CEO’s and corporations.  I enjoyed the movie, overall, and feel other parents taking their kids to see it will find something to like, too.

Leave a Reply

