Alternative

Posted: July 28, 2013 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

music subcultures

I like satellite radio.

For instance, last week when I drove to Neosho and Springfield, Missouri, I listened to a station called First Wave.  This station played a lot of the music I loved listening to during the ’80’s.  I’d been under the impression that music was now called “retro”, but First Wave set me straight.  It proudly proclaimed the music they were playing was “classic alternative“.  I knew it as New Wave and Punk, back then, but I’d always considered it mainstream pop music.  Shows what I knew.

That the music is considered Alternative makes sense, however.  In the ’90’s, I became aware I liked listening to “Alternative” music when my radio station began using the term and I’ve steered toward stations ever since that called themselves “the Alternative” or something like that.

While in Springfield, the announcer said to check out their sister Alternative station, Lithium, which played ’90’s Alternative and Grunge.  OMG! I thought (really).  THAT was my music!  I’ve always claimed the ’90’s as my favorite musical decade because of those two genres.  Anyway, I listened to Lithium until I turned in the rental car.  I was taken back to the days I first left the Navy and moved back to Iowa, a new civilian.  I listened to the same songs while on the road with my first field service job.

Times have changed, and so have I.  I still love that music, but I don’t intend to listen to it all the time from now on.  I’ve always prided myself about having never become mentally stuck in an era or genre.  I intend to keep moving on, exploring new music, but having stations like First Wave and Lithium allow me to occasionally relive good times, giving me an alternative to sports radio and country music when I’m driving through certain areas without any alternatives.

Leave a Reply

