Short-Timer

Posted: July 3, 2013 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

short.timer

Yep — that’s me.  I’ve fallen victim to short-timer’s syndrome once again.  I swore I’d try to avoid it, but today when discussing a project with a coworker about the reluctance of another coworker to respond to my e-mail messages, I heard myself say, “If he doesn’t get back to me, what do I care?  I’m out of here in a week.”  I’m trying to keep on task, but finding it harder and harder to stay motivated.  During the times I feel no desire to work on projects, I’ve tried to complete on-line training that will help me when I return to Field Service.  Preparing for the next job….

Things are going to change in a week and a half.  Though I’ve been a field tech for ScriptPro twice before, I’ve never been one as a single man.  What’s it going to be like, going back to the hotel room at night without needing to check in with someone at home?  What’s it going to be like, being able to start rotations early to make more money, without having to check with someone?  What’s it going to be like?  Even though the job will be familiar, this will be a new, strange chapter in my life.  I’m looking forward to finding out what’s in store.

I’ve always been a person who embraced change, sometimes voluntary and sometimes forced upon me.  I’ve been first on the plane or in the car when it’s been time to move.  I’ve quickly shifted gears going from one job to another.  In my personal life, I’ve adapted to unfavorable conditions and worked to change my conditions into something more favorable.

In this next phase of my life, I’m hoping to find happiness again.  Happy traveling.  Happy work life.  Happy singlehood.  But it’s a week and a half away — hope I can keep focused until then….

Leave a Reply

