The Way Way Good — A Review of The Way Way Back

Posted: May 23, 2013 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , ,

The Way Way Back

The Way Way Back is the story about how a sad teenager, Duncan, finds happiness. This film rang true to life. The characters were real, flawed people who had their problems. Steve Carell was the straight man in the movie, playing an unlikable guy, and he did such a good job, I didn’t like him. Sam Rockwell was the movie’s comic relief, and yet with a serious side too. I liked the ENTIRE cast of characters (except Steve Carell’s).

I spent the entire film trying to figure out the setting. To me, it looked like Cape Cod or Rhode Island. Ahh, I just looked it up, and the movie was filmed in Massachusetts. I’m glad I remembered my geography. And even though I didn’t grow up or summer in New England, I could identify with Duncan, because I can remember riding in the back seat of my dad’s station wagon just like him, feeling sad myself.

But I don’t want to give the impression this was a sad movie. Wicked humor abounded at the Water Wizz, Duncan’s favorite hangout. I’d recommend the movie to anyone.

Leave a Reply

